print-logo April 27, 2018

Municipality of Port Hope Celebrates Outstanding Citizens at 30th Annual Civic Awards Ceremony

For Immediate Release

Friday, April 27, 2018 - Port Hope, ON

An evening filled with music and dance was held to celebrate the recipients of the 2017 Civic Awards, which took place at the Cameco Capitol Arts Centre on Thursday, April 26, to recognize many civic-minded volunteers in the community who have dedicated their time and talents to make a difference in the Municipality.

“The Civic Awards is always one of my favourite events of the year, because it’s an opportunity to publicly recognize and thank our residents for all that they do to make Port Hope such a wonderful community,” explained Bob Sanderson, Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope. “We have a very passionate community and that is ever-so evident by the number of individuals that we celebrate each year –this year’s ceremony was no exception.”

The Civic Awards Program sets out to recognize the broad range of elements that make up Port Hope’s inspiring culture, by acknowledging those who contribute time, skills and resources towards improving the quality of life in the community.

The program celebrates nominees worthy of recognition for exceptional contributions and/or achievements, bringing honour and/or enrichment to the Municipality of Port Hope.

Highlights from this year’s ceremony include:
• Musical guests performed throughout the evening, including the Port Hope Pipe Band, Greatest of Ease, and Eile and Ayisha Hannigan.

• Port Hope’s local dance studio, Jennifer’s Jazz It Up took to the stage to provide an entertainment interlude for the recipients and guests.

• Acknowledgements were made by Jamie Simmons, on behalf of MP Kim Rudd, MPP Lou Rinaldi, Mayor Bob Sanderson, and members of Council were on hand to present the awards.

• Award Categories included: Community Service, Athletics, Arts & Culture, Inspiration, Environment, Agriculture, and Philanthropy awards.

• The two final awards of the night were the Outstanding Youth award, presented to Simon Cahill and the Outstanding Citizen, received by Catharine Tozer.

The Civic Awards Advisory Committee, a committee of Council, meets regularly throughout the year to manage the recognition program and host the annual award ceremony on behalf of Council. The Committee is comprised of the following members: Avril Ewing, Keri Kroeger, David Kroeger, Alan Wilson, Councillor Les Andrews, Recording Secretary Amanda Millar, and Staff Representative Jeannie Maidens. The Committee is currently seeking civic-minded individuals to join the group. Interested individuals can find more information and an application form at

More information about the Civic Awards program can be found online: and photos from the event will be available soon at:

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Kate Ingram, Communications / Community Engagement Coordinator
905-885-4544 x2248